Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving to all of my friends!

Here is a short list of the things I am thankful for:

  1. my children. my 2 boys have no serious health issues and seem quite happy. I am very thankful for that.
  2. The old Guy. I am thankful Scooter is healthy at his elderly equine age without any health issues.
  3. the things that come together that make my  lifestyle what it is (hubby, his employment). I am thankful that I do not have to work outside of the home. I have a nice home, some land, and a barn. The only thing that ever really made me happy in life was being with horses and being in the country, that is what I have.
  4. The U.S. Military. I am very thankful to our Military and their families that are making sacrifices to ensure our Freedom and to stop terrorism. The USA  is the best place on Earth to live.
  5. My family and friends. I am thankful for all of my family and friends, they make my world a better place.

 

 Yesterday morning, I was getting busy in the kitchen cooking pies for today, when I glanced out the back door window looking for the Old Guy. Instead, I saw this big, fat red -tailed hawk in the pasture. Then it flew onto the fence. I ran and got my camera, then snapped a quick picture. Sorry, no time for ZOOM, as soon as I cracked the door he was ready to take flight. I guess he is taking care of the field mouse poplulation around here.

Yesterday I also saw the little gray cat. I have been leaving a bit of dog chow out for him. He’s been eating it. Late one night, I saw him in the porch light at the dish. Elvis no longer barks at him.

I am serving homemade Indian Fry Bread with my turkey/ham dinner. I will be the first to admit, I am by far a good cook. But, one of the things I can make is Indian Fry Bread that’ll melt in your mouth! I am serving it with a big vat of local honey.

I will leave y’all with my favorite quote. Yes, I know you’ve read it a million times, but it is my favorite quote.

“My forefathers didn’t come over on the Mayflower, but they met the boat.”
– Will Rogers

17 Comments

Filed under Family Life

17 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Aniin BG,

    I am thankful that I have found myself after so many years in darkness.

    I am thankful for your friendship.

    Have a great day. 🙂

  2. BG..this such a lovely warm post..I too am thankfull for so many of the things you mentioned..I am thankful to be alive, with so many things I thought I would never have..family, home, children, friends..BG, have a great day with your wonderful family and friends..Happy Thanksgiving to you..m

  3. Lu

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours..
    And I bet you are a good cook!
    Do not eat too much!

  4. ooooooh I want FRYBREAD,I want it,I want it!!
    I grew up on that stuff!
    I haven’t made any since last year because well,the calories but now I’m craving it big time,lmao.
    And with honey? You’re killing me!;p
    Enjoy your special day!

  5. That’s one of my favorite quote’s, too.
    Hope you and yours’ have a wonderful Thanksgiving !
    It’s 47* here and sunny…this is confusing me…shoveled snow 3x in Oct. !!!

  6. brian- 🙂 have a great day too bad I cant send you some fry bread!

    madd-:) enjoy the day! your deserve it

    lu-ha! not that good

    lael-see why my ass is so HUGE? omg, frybread is the yummiest stuff ever……….

    magnolia-I had to turn on my central AC I was starting to sweat cooking. Its about 75 degrees here and tomorrow is going to be 85!

  7. Well, colour me ignorant! I had never heard that quote before but I sure do like it!

    Have a good day today, BG!

  8. Well I called susie’s parents today and her dad said that she is still alive. I guess she doesn’t get off work till 6:30 tonight.

    Happy Thanksgiving!! I love fry bread I haven’t had it since i was a kid.

    I’m most thankful for my kids and hubby without them I wouldn’t be anybody.

  9. Happy Thanksgiving! I hope your day is a great one.

  10. Happy Thanksgiving. We have lots to be thankful for this year too. I am thankful to be home. That Braden’s health is not worse, that the rest of us are healthy, my hubby, home, family, friends, etc., etc.

    Would also be thankful if I had a good Indian fry bread recipe (hint hint)

  11. I’m ready for some Indian fry bread.

  12. pavel-“color me ignorant” heheh, never heard that before!

    dianak-Im glad Susies okay, working on Thanksgiving? hope she got double time

    mysti-thnx 🙂 have a good one

    kelli-okay 🙂 maybe I’ll post it tomorrow. Good list of thanks you have too

    pamela-sorry your too late, it got all gobbled up and not by the gobbler! next time Ill save ya a piece 🙂

  13. BG..I hope you had a wonderful day with family and friends..m

  14. Lu

    Darn!! I made yeast rolls and I cold have had fry bread…awesome~~
    I grew up on fry bread, although it was squaw bread..some Indians still call it that!

  15. Missed you yesterday. Hope all went well on the homefront. I understand there was a lot of testosterone flowing! Ah well. You survived, another thing to be thankful for! D 🙂

  16. Wonderful list!
    The bird is beautiful. Have you tried croping and enlarging the picture? I was able to do it a bit.

  17. I could hardly take time to look at the hawk because I was drinking in the other scenery. Gorgeous! You are so very, very lucky to be able to look out your window/door/whatever and have that view!

    Happy (belated) Thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

