Pre-Storm Rituals

This morning I woke up to a balmy 66 degrees. Now the temperatures are plummeting as I type, soon to be below freezing. Rain is falling in huge fat drops, blowing hard against the windows. I can hear it bouncing off the flute in the fireplace in the living room. The weatherman promised a 90% chance this rain will turn to freezing rain/sleet, then snow.

Last night, about 45 minutes before dark, Son #1 and I prepared for the storm coming our way. We drained water hoses, put them up, dragged out the water tank heater, made sure it worked and wouldnt shock the Old Guy when he went to get a drink form his water tank.

Bikes, the riding lawn mower, Wee One’s John Deere Gator, son #1’s precious dirt bike, the gas grill, and other various outdoor toys were stowed away in the barn for safe keeping until the storm is over. One good thing about Oklahoma, it may storm and snow, but it never lasts long and the balmy weather will be back again. We can resume our fun outdoor activities in a few days or a week or so with out being hampered by the ground being covered in snow for 7 months like the Northern States (where I grew up!).

Hubby already took care of the anti-freeze type stuff that needs done to anything with a motor. He wouldnt want me doing it, thats for sure! I am not mechanically inclined. I think I was born in the wrong century. I am much more comfortable and happier on the back of a horse than riding or driving in a vehicle.

I woke up before everyone else (except hubby, he was long gone because of the winter storm warning). I fed Scooter early, about 6 am inside his run-in shed. He ate while I cleaned it up. The Equine Senior horse feed doesnt make him crap much, meaning he is utilizing his feed as best as he can without waste. But since hes been gobbling that damn hay like it is going out of style, I have many more manure piles to rake then pitchfork out of his run-in shed and stall. That makes me crabby.

I snapped this picture this morning at 8am just before the start of the cold front and heavy rains blew thru. It was so dark, with thunder and lightening. Soon Scooter parked himself back inside his stall-brat!

Homemade Indian Fry Bread Recipe

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1-2 tsp sugar(optional)
  • Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Add the warm water in small amounts and knead dough until soft but not sticky. Adjust the flour and water as needed. Cover bowl and let stand about 15 minutes somewhere warm.

    Pull off pieces of dough (approximately the size of an egg) Roll out into thin squares. Fry squares in hot oil until bubbles appear on the dough, turn over and fry on the other side until golden.

    I use Wesson or Crisco oil, it just seems to give it a better taste. Then I serve with honey.

    I also use the Red Corn Native Foods fry bread mix more often than making it homemade, I like it better than my homemade recipe. Best friend L. and hubby prefer my homemade one. My boys like both equally.

    I will leave you with one of my favorite poems of all times. I recall this poem often, especially during times in my life I need a bit of extra strength.

    Call To The Four Sacred Winds
    By Spirit Wind (Pat Poland)

    I call to the East, where the Father ascends
    to all Mother Earth where life begins.
    I fly through the cedars, pines, willows, and birch
    as animals below me wander and search.

    I call to the South, to the land down below.
    Turtle stands silent, as man strings his bow
    to hunt food and fur for his kin before snow.
    A life will end so others will grow.

    I call to the North, that yansa once knew.
    I follow their path til it disappears from view.
    Once vast in number, there stand but a few.
    I hear only ghost thunder of millions of hooves.

    I call to the West, to the ends of the lands,
    to the Tsalagi, Kiowa, Comanche … all bands.
    Unite for the strength. Teach the young and demand
    that you are Native Americans. Learn your tongue and stand.

    My name is Freedom… I fly through this land.
    I call to the Four Sacred Winds of Turtle Island.

    14 Comments

    Filed under Weather

    14 responses to “Pre-Storm Rituals

    1. mmmm I love fry bread, I’m going to make this. My Mom used to make fry bread when I was a kid. She called them Hot Totzies. Thanks for the recipe.

      Hope your weather doesn’t get worse than it is but they’re calling for some nasty sh*t.

    2. Aniin BG,

      I get tears every time you share this poem.

      I have a question? How do you test the tank heater for shocks? Do you draw for the short straw and stick your hand in?

      Hope you weather the weather ok and Scooter doesn’t act up.

    3. I have never tasted fry bread. sounds interesting. and yea. I miss a good storm here in So Cal. It never blusters up here much. I like the feeling of that wind, and sleet, but just for a day or two. stay warm!

      I love that second picture of your horse. Mind if i use it?

    4. Up here we call this bannack.
      As well as frying it, we cook it on the end of a stick over an open fire.
      A great treat on a cold day.
      I hope you stay cozy during the storm
      and it is short lived.
      We are tucked in til spring.

    5. I am going to try that bread tommorow. We are preparing for the weather as well. WalMart is a freakin mad house worse than normal with everyone stocking up in fear of storms.

    6. It sounds like you’ve got some nasty weather coming in. It’s going to be here by Monday, and let me tell you, people in the South don’t handle it as well as you. I hope you guys stay safe and snuggled in!

      Fry bread? Oh my, this sounds beyond wonderful! I’m adding it to my list of “Things I Will Finally Get To Cook Once My Husband Actually Has The Stove Hooked Up.” I’m a little cranky about that today.

    7. jenny-its nasty right now w/out the snow ack! I am making some fry bread right now, my dough is warming 🙂

      brian-lol, Scooter is being a good boy, last night was a different story tho!

      melanie-yes, u can use my pic

      hope-good stuff huh? but fattening. We Native Americans like those rich foods, dont we?

      kelli-omg! I can imagine, I am glad I shopped some yesterday

      pinky-were having ‘thundersleet’ right now-ack! if it gets any worse I am picking up my 7th grader early!

    8. BG..oh got busy and missed you this morning..this is such a lovely post..I love the pictures of old guy..I distinctly remember getting everything ready for impending storms..never minded that as much as I do getting ready for hurricans..yuck..it sucks big time. The poem..I am going to print it and keep it is so wonderful..thank you for sharing it. Fry Bread…one of my favorites!!! my mom used to make it and I like it with butter, cinnamon sugar..thanks for the name of the ready made one..I am going to see if they ship..thanks…have a good one and I hope the storm doesn’t get too bad…see ya..m

    9. Oh, I love this poem!

      It’s been raining here off and on all day. My mood reflects the weather today – crappy! UGH! D

    10. WEATHER UPDATE

      HOLY crappola-I just came indoors from putting the Old Guy in for the night w/ his dinner…brrrrrrrrrrrrrrr that wind chill is easily in the teens or single digits. My front porch is iced over 😦 hubby called at 2:45 and was shutting down b/c of the bad sleeting/ice coming down. I havent heard from him since. I hope hes okay.

      madd-yep, they ship 🙂 the mix is the best, Ithink its wayyyy better than homemade

      diane-Im starting to get cranky, Wee One took off running when we just got home a bit ago in the freezing sleet when I told him to get on the porch b/c I was getting eggs out of the car I had just picked up, grrrrrrr!

    11. I checked in again to see if you’d said anything else about the weather. I’m getting a little worried here about what ours is going to do. I meant to tell you earlier that I really like that poem too.

    12. jenny-now out winter storm warning is extended until 3Am friday! right now we are having sleet w/ thunder. Its sooooo COLD. I hope y’all do not get it bad.

    13. Rebecca

      I hope the storm passes over ya’ll quickly and as quietly as possible. It drizzled here all day…As I type this it is pouring here outside. Kinda nice to here the rain ~ I had a shit day at work. A few knuckle heads in my last periods really wear me out. UGHHHH

    14. How lucky you won’t have 7 months of the white stuff on the ground. They are saying here we are in for a blizzard like 77-78. Snow plows were stuck,etc.
      Love the poem..it’s so quietly profound.
      Now..the fry bread is what my grandma called tea cakes ( no idea why ) but she would serve it with cane syrup from a can…
      Take care,stay warm and y’all be safe !

      ps..I don’t know anyone that got a deer this year…for the first time in forever.

    Leave a Reply

    