Happy New Year

I take back all the complaining I did this past summer when it was 110 degrees and I was having a heat stroke……….

Todays weather is down right nasty. It has poured down rain then turned to snow flurries. The wind is blowing 25 mph so the 38 degree temp feels like 25 degrees. Brrrrrrr.

Yesterday morning our electric was out for 4 hours. I guess because of the thunderstorms. Hubby and I put all of our Christmas decorations back in storage by candlelight and flashlight. Now I just need one full day of cleaning and my house will be back to normal. That wont happen until we are back on normal schedule.

I am still out of sorts. Scooter is acting a tiny bit off. Not sick or anything like that, he just isint himself. I thought we had cured his pecker problem but it started swelling up a few days ago. He is drinking and urinating fine. I am worried. Do I call the Vet Tuesday or not? gah! I hate this.

Then, last night, before hubby and I went to bed, we looked at the County Jail’s website roster to see if anyone we knew has been thrown in jail over the Holiday weekend (we do this every weekend, how sad are we?)

As people are booked into jail, it is immediately posted on the jail’s website, complete with a mug shot.

As we were reading down the list of names, you can imagine our suprise when we see hubby’s older brother is in jail for public intoxication. Arrested yesterday afternoon. Brother R.s buddy was arrested for a DUI. I wont go into detail about this brother…….but I am sure you get the idea.

After seeing his brother’s mug shot hubby says, ” he’ll never learn.” I agreed with him and pointed out at least he was not driving this time. So, we go to bed and figure brother R. will get himself out of jail. Oh no, no such luck. Guess who he calls to bail him out? Hubby.

I did not say one word about the whole situation even tho I was fit to be tied. Might as well light a match to that $145 because it is never to be seen again. This is not the first time hubby has bailed out R. or saved his ass from certain disaster.

I was at Wal-Mart yesterday in the checkout lane, patiently waiting my 30 minutes until it was my turn to checkout, I overheard a conversation between 3 teenage girls. They were standing around a magazine with Paris Hitlon on the cover. The tall brown-haired girl with braces and a lovely complexion said to her friends, “Paris is so cool. I would love to be her.” 

The other 2 girls, I am betting they were sisters because they favored each, both chimed in unison an agreement to the brunettes statement. The trio was pointing out their favorite things about the trashy heiress, commenting on her ‘cool’ clothes. I thought to myself, “omg! Paris Hilton looks like a woman who has STD’s and doesnt mind sharing them-ack!” That moment, I was so very thankful I have sons………..

It is hard to imagine another year has flown by. 2007 is right on our heels. I hope this is a good year for you, me, and the USA.

I never did understand this song and how it relates to the New Year. Do you?

Auld Lang Syne

Should auld acquaintance be forgot
And never brought to mind
Should auld acquaintance be forgot
And auld lang syne.

chorus:
For auld lang syne, my dear,
For auld lang syne,
We’ll tak’ a cup o’ kindness yet
For auld lang syne.

How are y’all ringing in the New Year? Give me the details, I want to know.

Nothing planned here but it is still early…….. 

Stay safe and make sure you have a designated driver if your going to be under the influence of anything intoxicating.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

15 Comments

Filed under Ramblings, Rants

15 responses to “Happy New Year

  1. SailorMoon

    I’m tellin ya’, you have no idea how glad I am that my younger 2 are boys. Seems like that one day you wake up and the daughter you’ve had all this time suddenly turned into something you don’t know! I am determined to get my tree down today & put away. I don’t think I’ve ever done that and 2007 will be a year of changes and improvements. My new year’s eve will consist of going to p/u my teens and 4 of their friends from Six Flags at 6pm. It’s cold and windy here, Cowboys are apparently frozen as well!! :0 Anyway, that 45 min. drive home from 6 Flags will either be a hoot or like getting teeth pulled. Will buy a few $ of fireworks for my 5yo and hang out. No more going out for me for the evening. Here’s to a healthy and prosperous 2007 for us all. [[with you on the getting back to the routine, notice I didn’t say normal! School starts back here Wednesday.]]

  2. Aniin BG,

    We are going to stay in. If we do go out, there is music on the Town Square’s until 12:30 am. I doubt it though. The only thing worse than rude old farts, is drunk rude old farts. 🙂

    I hear you about girls. All they want these days is to be famous and trashy. I am trying to gear up to record PAD, but it’s 5,600 words!!! I had no idea it was that long. LOL

    Anytime you can’t listen to a recording let me know and I’ll send it to you.

    I have no idea why Auld Lang Syne was picked but I am sure it was a marketing ploy, probably by the Waldorf Astoria in the Roaring 20’s.

    Have a safe and fun evening.

  3. I have a 6 yo girl and she is already talking about make-up and other crap it doesn’t help that her 14 yo cousin is her idol.

    As for new years we will be at my bro-in-laws mom’s house. a company is setting off fireworks about 50 yards from her house. we went last year and it was a lot of fun.

    Hope you get to feeling better and sorry you wasted your money on your bro-in-law.

  4. BG..Happy New year to you my friend…staying in, watching fireworks, toasting the new year…more than once..:)enjoy yours as well..m

  5. Rebecca

    Sorry about Scooter…I am just getting back from a Mani and Pedi. I needed to be pampered…I wanted another massage like I had mid week…but she was closed today and tomorrow…and UNFORTUNATELY, I go back to work Tuesday. MEOW~

    Not sure about tonight. I thought G would have called and said lets do something….no such luck.

    T is meeting another G at Buffalo Wild Wings to watch football and have a few beers. I am debating on joining them. A is cooking for her parents and invited me over~ I may just have a drink here and watch TV. I watched my Saints lose, then I cooked then I went for Nail stuff and here I am.

    My friend with benefits isn;t available tonight or I’d call him. (again meow)

    Anyway here’s hoping to a GREAT New Years for all of us and our families, pets and nice neighbors!

  6. Guy Lombardo popularized the familiar saxophone rendition in 1939. He first broadcast it on his radio special, The Lombardo New Year’s Eve Party, which started in 1929 and is the longest-running annual program in radio history. Lombardo died in 1977, but his saxophone rendition of Auld Lang Syne has immortalized him in western culture, becoming the definitive song of the new year.
    http://www.newyearsevesong.com/auldlangsyne.html

    So there you have it. It just happened because of Guy Lombardo. Can you imagine leaving that much of a mark in history?

    sorry about your electricity. However, the candlelight sounds romantic. What the heck were you doing putting away decor when you could have been having a romantic moment.. ha ha ha ha

    Get well scooter. Animals can’t tell us where it hurts. There is a “dog whisperer” that comes into my work place. Interesting — she is.

    Sometimes I think people just are far more perceptive and observant than others — and that makes them much better to deal with animals .

    When I grow up I want to be a baby whisperer.

    Happy New Year

  7. Happy New Year to Everyone at the Reservation.
    Sounds like 2007 might be a welcome sight after reading this post.

  8. A kindred spirit! We look online at the Oklahoma court dockets all the time to see if anybody we know has been arrested. Most of the time we are looking to see how long it’s been between The Hubster’s sister’s arrests. She is totally messed up and ends up in jail quite frequently.

    We are going to my best friend’s house to ring in the new year. We have no big plans, just a few families hanging out together.

    Hope you have a great New Year!

  9. So glad I have boys, too!

    How frustrating about DH bailing out his brother. But it must be hard saying no to your own brother.

    The photo is beautiful.

    Happy New Year to you!

  10. sailormoon-6 flags! fun! we lit off a few fireworks too,wee one liked them

    brian-oh dear, drunk old farts doesnt sound good..

    dianak-I hope your fireworks were good. Where is Susan?!?!!

    madd-happy new year 🙂

    rebecca-mani/pedi I am jealous! I need both……

    pamela-thnx for the info! i understand it better now.

    swampwitch-happy new year 🙂

    tonya-I swear, I could just ring my brother-un-laws neck. He is the only brother that is such a f**k up, he needs to get a JOB.

    mom2threecubs-Yay for raising boys! I have to agree, I think they are easier than girls. Hubby is pretty tight w/ his brothers, so I left it alone. He’d never tell me NOT to help out my family if they ever needed it….but no one in my family is like R. either……….

    magz-Happy new Year! any snow yet? I cant believe it was gone for xmas

  11. HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU TO I am having a great one .

  12. Happy New Year!

    I have a brother that is probably much worse than your hubby’s and I finally last year washed my hands of it. My parents still bail him out pay for lawyers, etc., me I don’t even speak to him. Hard hard hard to do for me but I felt I had to take a stand.

  13. We spent New Years at home. I hope that 2007 brings all that you desire to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

