Great Expectations

We are who we are, people don’t change.”

 

Have you ever watched the movie Great Expectations (1998)  ? it starred Gwenyth Paltrow, Ethan Hawke, and Robert DeNiro.

The movie strays a bit from some of the details in the book, Great Expectations by Charles Dickens .

Strangely, I found the movie much better than the book. I was assigned the book to read in a literature class many years ago. It seemed like back then, it was a struggle for me to get thru the novel.

Which brings me back to the quote at the beginning of this post said by character Stella to Finn:

“We are who we are, people don’t change.”

How often have you heard the saying, “People change.” ?

 but…

Do they?

Do people really change?

15 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

15 responses to “Great Expectations

  1. I’ve changed many times. Trouble is, I keep changing back like I was again.

  2. Rebecca

    People can change. They have to do it themselves, WE can’t change others. God knows I have tried a few times.

    Thanks for the email. I’m home now and posted an update on mom.

    Too bad we don’t have “BeWitched” powers…I’d be twitching my nose for hours on end.

  3. My grannie use to say, and I believe…..
    “when people show you who they are, believe them. ”
    People rarely change. Ask any woman about their mate.

  4. I think the core of a person remains the same. We are born with a certain personality and set of skills. We can improve different aspects of ourselves, but who we are largely remains the same, no matter what life throws our way.

  5. They can change, if they want to — and reach.

    It is just a monumental task.

  6. Aniin BG,

    Yes, we change. Sometimes for the better and sometimes for the worse.

  7. donnaW- I hate when that happens

    rebecca-Id love to have bewitched powers, Id win the lottery

    hope-your grandma is a wise woman

    momto3cubs-well put

    pamela-maybe, depends

    brian-Im not so sure

    popeye-lol, no putting on aires huh?

  8. We appear to change.

    Only with life alterations, purposely made moves – do we really change.

    It’s a game of illusions.

    D 🙂

  9. Okay, I’m going to share a little more about me than usual.

    Yes, people change, if they truly want to. Roughly 13 years ago, I was addicted to drugs, buying and selling drugs, stealing, lying cheating, committing a bevy of crimes and stabbing all my friends in the back on a near daily basis. I was a horrible, strung out bitch. There’s no other way to describe it than that.

    Then I had my moment. You know the one where everything clears and you see yourself in a whole ‘nother light? Yeah, I had that when I was rolling pennies out of my childhood piggy bank because I had a score of coke waiting for me and I didn’t have any money. That’s just sad.

    I’m not that person, there is no part of her left in me. I work hard to maintain friendships, I don’t lie, cheat, steal, do drugs or any of the horrible things I used to do. People change if they really want to, but it’s cold, it’s hard, it’s lonely and it’s very, very scary.

    I don’t miss the old me, not for a moment. I often think of those times like I was someone else because I am so far from that now. Didn’t mean to go so deep, but your question struck a cord.

  10. ff-it may be just an illusion

    pinky-thnx for sharing your story. maybe it was the drugs that made you do those horrible things. I suspect before the drugs dragged you down, you were the kind and decent person you are today.

  11. Ooooh good question.
    I think parts of people can change..it really depends on the person, their life experience and their wants and needs.

  12. I think people can grow and mature and that results in change. But without those two factors, change never takes place.

    And it is true about ask a woman about her mate. I have learned more about what the “heart” of TTA really is like since he had to move back in and what a fake and jackass he is than I did in all the previous years we were together. And it ain’t been easy and it ain’t been pretty!

  13. Circumstances can change people…often when one least expects it. I think it would be a very boring world if everyone remained the same way through-out life.
    How is your weather out there ?

  14. Hmmm, I think some people change while others prefer to remain the same. It takes courage to make positive changes and strength to maintain those changes…especially if loved ones do not like the changes we make.

Leave a Reply

