The Beginning And The End

Oklahoma sunrise

 

Oklahoma sunset

 

************

Popcorn is one of my favorite foods. I love all kinds, flavored any way. No doubt a taste I inherited from my Native American ancestors. I came across an interesting folklore about popcorn with an interesting spin to it. 

The Native American tale described spirits who lived inside each kernel of popcorn:

“The spirits were quiet and content to live on their own, but grew angry if their houses were heated,” 

 “The hotter their homes became, the angrier they’d get—shaking the kernels until the heat was too much. Finally they would burst out of their homes and into the air as a disgruntled puff of steam.”

 

 

I thought it was an interesting story. The next time I pop some popcorn, I’ll be thinking of the little spirits getting po’ed at me for lighting a fire under their houses.

 

20 Comments

Filed under Ramblings, Weather

20 responses to “The Beginning And The End

  1. I don’t know if you’ve read enough of my writings to know about my lifelong fascination with native Americans. When I was a kid, I wanted SO much to find just a drop of Indian blood flowing in my veins. I have a cabin back in our woods, and a battery-operated CD player. I mostly play Indian music there. The granddaughters always ask me to turn on the Indian music when they go back there with me. One CD is by Floyd Westerman; the others are Indian music in native language.

  2. Aniin BG,

    Love the photos. I remember as a child, Indian corn and all the different colors.

    I am at work today until 11am, just trying out my body. Very, very tired.

  3. Rebecca

    Cajun creole popcorn…IS the best! It’s drizzled in all kinds of sweet stuff. I brought a few individual packs it for my co workers and they loved it!!!!

    I’ll send you an online link if your interested in trying it. My secretary begged me to bring her some back whenever I go home.

    It’s melt in your mouth sweet YUMMYNESS

  4. donna-I have lots of Native American music on my PC. The BEST is heard live. I love the “calling of the spirits” at the Grayhorse dances (the 1st dance of the year here) it is an eery and sad sound, it never fails to touch my soul.
    Your granddaughters are lucky, you sound like a rockin’ grandmother!!

    brian-Indian corn isnt very tasty unless its the candy kind…which I am craving now that you mentioned it

    rebecca-Ive never heard of that kind of popcorn, it sounds D’lish!

  5. I will pass this on to the Cree Princess next movie night.
    I love the tale, I have often wondered about the person who discovered popcorn.I invision them throwing the corn cob on the fire, sitting back for a minute and taking cover when the world exploded with white fluffy pieces of the sky.

  6. I will pass this on to the Cree Princess next movie night.
    I love the tale, I have often wondered about the person who discovered popcorn.I invision them throwing the corn cob on the fire, sitting back for a minute and taking cover when the world exploded with white fluffy pieces of the sky.

  7. I will pass this on to the Cree Princess next movie night.
    I love the tale, I have often wondered about the person who discovered popcorn.I invision them throwing the corn cob on the fire, sitting back for a minute and taking cover when the world exploded with white fluffy pieces of the sky. .

  8. Rebecca

    Do you have any single friend blogs????

  9. hope-hope are you stuttering? the cree princess will like that tale I bet!

    rebecca-yes, Paval…well hes divorced, does that count? melanie is single too…

  10. Loved the photos! I just realized I have a friend somewheres in Ok. I need to ask her what city, um, well, just so I can tell you “Hey, I have a friend in….”?!

    It’s already been a long day – interview day. I wish I could go home…sigh.

  11. I love popcorn @ the theater…….but recently they haven’t been popping it fresh so it’s not hot and that’s just not the same…..lol

    cool story……thanks for sharing it with us.

  12. rachel-hope your interview went well

    RNG-I love theatre popcorn too!

  13. A friend sent us a huge 20 flavor set from popcorn factory for Christmas I had never seen so many flavors but for me nothing beats hot theatre popcorn lots of butter and salt and throwing my M&M’s in with the popcorn

  14. mmmmm popcorn,I looove popcorn.
    I’ve been crazing candy corn for some reason lately. Mmm buttery,sweet,salty candy corn. Drooool

  15. DAMMIT now I want some popcorn! Thanks a lot, you. 😉

  16. oral

    The popcorn sounds good.

    What time is the party?

  17. Lovely pics, as always.

    The next time I have popcorn, I will think of those spirits bursting out.

  18. That is an interesting story 🙂

  19. FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

    HORSE SLAUGHTER PLANT TO
    CONTINUE POLLUTING DEKALB’S WATERS

    As if over two years of continuous discharge violations, and foaming torrents of equine blood spilling out of its 25,000 gallon treatment tank were not enough of a threat to the community, a citizens group has now presented evidence that Cavel International, Inc., a horse slaughtering facility located in the city of DeKalb, Illinois is dumping toxic substances into their sewers. Despite all this, the DeKalb Sanitary District has refused to take immediate action towards suspending the plant’s operations.

    On Wednesday, February 21, 2006, a citizens group named and described more than 30 toxic substances widely used in the horse industry and undoubtedly present in many of the estimated 40,000 horses slaughtered annually by the plant. These toxic substances pose serious threats to both humans and the environment alike. The group estimates that the result is 500,000 gallons of contaminated equine blood along with an undetermined amount of fecal material being dumped annually into a system that has no way of removing these substances.

    The DeKalb Sanitary District had full authority to revoke the Industrial User Permit held by Cavel International, Inc. for failure to disclose the potential presence of the dangerously toxic substances present in the animals slaughtered there.

    Cavel International, Inc. has been posting violation after violation for nearly three years after re-opening in 2004, due to unsuccessful efforts to treat the waste it discharges into the city’s water treatment plant. Recent test levels for waste being discharged into the city’s sewer system are more than four times the permitted threshold.

    There is no practical process that will remove the pharmaceuticals and other substances present in the blood and waste of animals who were administered these products which were all clearly labeled: NOT FOR USE ON HORSES INTENDED FOR SLAUGHTER.

    No testing is done for these pharmaceuticals which pass directly through the treatment plant, into the Kishwaukee River, and directly into the water supplies of downstream communities. The USDA tightly regulates the drugs that can be given to cattle and other food animals, especially in the period leading up to their slaughter.

    No such safeguards exist for horses which routinely go directly from auction to slaughter. The problem is so significant that one of the nation’s largest producers of mushrooms recently announced it would no longer use horse manure from race tracks to grow its mushrooms because of the uptake of these substances.

    Although the horse meat is not being eaten by the community, the same substances found in the blood and waste of these animals are being ingested daily by any citizen who merely drinks the tap water from a downstream source.

    The DeKalb Sanitary District has failed the people of the city of DeKalb once again. Due to its disregard of the health and safety of the community, the people intend to seek further action against both Cavel International, Inc., and the DeKalb Sanitary District if the situation is not immediately rectified.

    Given the information the DeKalb Sanitary District has available to it regarding these toxins, it is clearly violating the parameters of its own permit, issued by the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency.

    Questions can be directed to:

    Angela Valianos

    815-899-3625 Office

    815-899-3626 Facsimile

    815-260-1722 Direct

Leave a Reply

