Native Full Moon

 

The next full moon is 3/3/07. 1 week away.

Since I was a little girl, I have been fascinated with the moon. I do not know nearly enough about the strange celestial body but I wish I did.

I have fond memories as a child of nights spent laying in the cool, lush, green grass of Northern Michigan’s summer, listening to the humming of the nighttime creatures while staring up into the night sky, star gazing, studying the moon. Occassionally blessed with a shooting star.

It is no wonder, we on earth, are fascinated with the moon. After all, the great and mighty ocean tides are connected and in tune with the moon.

Why shouldnt humans be?

Native American names for the full moons:

January – Old Moon, Wolf Moon

February – Snow Moon

March – Sap Moon, Worm Moon, Crow Moon, Crust Moon

April – Grass Moon, Pink Moon, Moon of the Red Grass Appearing

May – Milk Moon, Flower Moon

June – Rose Moon, Strawberry Moon

July – Thunder Moon, Buck Moon

August – Green Corn Moon, Corn Moon, Sturgeon Moon

September – Fruit Moon, Harvest Moon

October – Harvest Moon, Hunter’s Moon

November – Frost Moon, Beaver Moon

December – Long Night Moon, Cold Moon

April’s Moon of the Red Grass Appearing is my favorite full moon name.

Which month and name is your favorite?

6 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

6 responses to “Native Full Moon

  1. Did you take those pictures? Wow!

  2. Aniin BG,

    I love the moon also. It is actually moving further away from Earth every year as the Earth slows down spinning. The moon also was formed when a large meteor hit the Earth and a large chunk was broken off which formed the moon and is why the moon doesn’t rotate.

    Great names, I have to say that the June names are the ones I like the best.

    At work again this morning, I’ll only work a few more hours though, hard to work when I’m out of breath just walking and standing.

  3. Rebecca

    I’d pick June or Sept. I like those names, altought there is nothing like an early october moon with cool breezes flowing on your fingertips……..and someone to snuggle up with, and a warm fire to retreat too…..

    Glad Bri is at work again.

  4. “I have fond memories as a child of nights spent laying in the cool, lush, green grass of Northern Michigan’s summer, listening to the humming of the nighttime creatures while staring up into the night sky, star gazing, studying the moon. Occassionally blessed with a shooting star.”

    I love the description, I can feel it!

    I have always liked the Harvest Moon, myself. But Spring-early Summer is more my time of year.

    Great picture choices. Did you take them? D 🙂

  5. SailorMoon

    I like all the light and the brightness that a full moon brings. It’s trippy out where I live. My fav month and names are October. The names are true and October is just a good month. A transitioning month. The only real change of season we seem to have here in Texas, I think is a big part of why I like it.

  6. Quasar9

    lol! BarnGoddess
    December would have to be for me
    I like ‘long’ nights
    and the cold all the more reason to huddle close
    and preserve body heat.

Leave a Reply

