The Divide

I took this picture from a very long ways away. I zoomed it in as far as I could in my image editor. It looks like a painting!

The last few weeks my camera has acted like it is possessed. I hope it gets over it’s problem, whatever it is….

 

The end of last week was a bad one for some folks in Arkansas and Southern Oklahoma. As much as I am happy to see winter’s end, the beginning of spring brings severe weather and killer tornados to my area.

Our new home and acreage does not have a storm cellar like our old place did. We do have an old cellar that can be used for shelter during a tornado. It was built about a hundred years ago and I am not too keen on getting down in there. In fact ,Ive only looked in there twice since we bought this place last summer, it looks like snake or scorpion heaven. Hubby said he put stuff down in there to repel the bugs and creatures that might be able to get past the door……..ummm I’d still rather take my chances elsewhere!

Our closest neighbors have a storm shelter at the goat ranch. Mrs. Goat Rancher is from Maine and is terrified of thunderstorms. She has commented that to me just about every time I’ve talked with her. She has also offered us the use of her shelter should we ever be in the path of a tornado.

The last bad storm, I loaded up the boys and we headed into town to my in-laws. They have a pantry built inside their house that is a ‘safe room’.

For some reason, I feel this spring storm season is going to be a nasty one. Probably because we’ve been so lucky the last few years.

 

Nicholas Evans is one of my favorite authors.

He wrote The Horse Whisperer which is an excellent book. 

I just finished reading The Divide . . It is a very good book. I enjoyed it.

My all time favorite Evan’s book is The Loop . It is a good book! If you have not read this one, read it. You will NOT be disappointed.   

The Loop opens as a pack of wolves makes a sudden return to the Rocky Mountains ranching town of Hope, Montana, where a century ago, they were slaughtered by the thousands. Now shielded by law as endangered species, they reawaken an ancient hatred that will tear a family and, ultimately, the town apart.

Well, I am out of new books to read. So I guess I better get busy, find something new and worthwhile to read.

16 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

16 responses to “The Divide

  1. SailorMoon

    I’m with you, I’m curious to see what this spring’s weather will bring. This winter was bad, (I grew up in the North and know what real bad weather is) but, it was bad for Tx standards. The winds and dust the other day were just freaky. Preparing for the nonstop 108 degree days soon. :0

  2. Aniin BG,

    Good to see Scooter. I love zooming in on the computer, it makes the pictures look different.

    I agree that the spring storm season will be intense. It’s supposed to be 87 degrees here today. Yesterday was around 80.

    Much happier with the heat.

  3. Hey there! Sorry for my absense. 😦

    Scooter looks good! How are things going for you? Busy?

    Hope spring arrives peacefully for you. I pray you’re wrong about the storm season.

    Got some neat stuff to send you – Hopefully by the end of this week, sigh…….

    Hope all is well for you & the “boys”. D 🙂

  4. kt

    oh my! do you see alot of tornados? i was part of a small one when i lived in ohio and that was enough for me!

  5. I’m worried about tornado season too. Nobody out here has a storm shelter. I guess I’ll shut Scout and myself in the closet and hope for the best.

  6. SM-Ill take the heat over bone numbing cold anyday. The dust the other day was a bit scary until I realized out what it was!

    bri-I agree, hot weather is better over cold weather anyday

    FF-I hope I am wrong about the storm season too, but I cant convince myself that I am…just a feeling I got

    kt-we get a lot of tornados, high winds. They never bothered me until I became a mother, now I worry about my kids.

    jenny-yikes! is Scout scared of storms?

  7. Rebecca

    I didn’t read the book, but I saw the movie …and I loved it! I really like Robert Redford. It was a sweet story.

    You haven’t been around as much. Can you lock yourself in a computer room and chill??? Any day care for you these days?

  8. I hope you have an uneventful storm season:)
    I used to be unafraid until I had kids too,funny how that works!
    The last big one we had was last summer,it was the worst I’ve ever been in and it was terrifying.
    I thought the hill behind our house was going to slide down and take the house with it.
    Further north they get tornado warnings,and we see them on the TV. Scares the hell out of me!

  9. I worry about this storm season, too. The one that we had come through on Saturday was NASTY! And that’s just the start of it.

    I’m out of books to read, too, so I may just go snag one of your suggestions! Hope you are well!

  10. rebecca-Ive been around some just busy!

    lael-I hope you never get tornados in your area but with global warming and all, one day it may be the case years away..

    pinky-yes, y’all get some nasty weather like us. Lets keep our fingers crossed.

  11. I have a town named after me!!!!

  12. Oral

    What about a book club?

  13. What a beautiful picture! You know, I’ve wondered if ya’ll had a storm shelter (I figured you did, but wasn’t for sure). Tornadoes scare me to death. We’ve only had one that’s come through here, but it was enough to damn near make me have a heartattack. I’m glad at least you’ve got places to go in the event of a bad storm/tornado

  14. my brother in Oklahoma calls his a “fraidy hole”

  15. Love the horse pic. I too am anticipating a bad spring and not looking forward to it. Town near us last week had the striaght line winds that destroyed a few houses.

  16. I am worried about the weather this spring also. take care. Get a light and check out the hole. You may need it.

Leave a Reply

