Cobwebbed Flea Prevention

Ever have one of those days where you just cant get your act together?

Today was one of those days for me.

My brain felt full of cobwebbs….maybe it was that wine I drank last night.

Too much to do and not enough time, plus its raining again. Rain makes everything harder.

I’m whiner I know.

The boys and I all had eye appointments this afternoon. We let Wee One go first since he was the easiest, hubby was working, but coming to the clinic on his way thru town to pick up Wee One. That way Son #1 and I would not have to deal with him for our appointments.

Hubby was late, then he called while Son #1 was being examined and Wee One was trying to wreck the eye doctor’s office. Hubby said, “where are you, you werent in the waiting room”

Feeling like Im misbehaving by whipering into my cell phone while the eye doctor is looking over my first born, I say “Im in the examining room with the boys, a parent needs to be present when they are examined. Where are you? You are LATE

The good doctor is looking at me out of the corner of his eye like he is thinking, “the sign says turn off cell phone”

I did, sorta…I turned the ringer to vibrate.

Hubby answers, “Im out here by your car.”

Me, “thats helping a lot, gotta go” Then I corralled Wee One before he helps himself to another of the good doctor’s markers.

Sometimes I want to choke my children’s daddy.

Early Sunday morning Son #1 decided to build himself another bike out of spare parts.  After he finished, he took it for a test ride.

He came back and showed me some tricks. When he was finished I asked him, “how did it ride for ya?” and motioned my head towards the paved county road.

Son #1 said, “great! maybe later Ill put some brakes on it.”

definately his father’s son…..

I hope the weekend is nice, weatherwise. I am planning on going out to see Mrs. E T’s new Arab. I wrote about her in this post: Arabs vs. Quarter Horses vs. Saddle Breds And So On..

I’m taking my saddle in case I get a couple of hours kid-free. I’ll take the obese Palomino out for a ride.

Marvin loves to be brushed. He also tolerates Wee One better than Miss Kitty.

Speaking of Miss Kitty, I gave her a Frontline treatment today. Shes been slinking around giving me the evil cat eye. She acts like I dunked her in a tub full of flea dip instead of put some drops on her back!

There will be no fleas on the Reservation, not a chance in hell. Indoor cats or not, they’ll get their Frontline.

17 Comments

Filed under Family Life, Horses, Marvin, Miss Kitty, Ramblings

17 responses to “Cobwebbed Flea Prevention

  1. I think we should own stock in Frontline.. The stuff sure works though. Gretchen (dog) got bit by a tick once after a ride in the country and it died.

    I’m thinking of putting it on my husband when he goes fishing. Do you think I’ll have to put it on him every time, or will it be good for thirty days??

  2. Aniin BG,

    Changed your posting schedule on me? Good thing I can’t sleep due to this new med. 😆

    Have to get up at 4:30 because Diane is getting picked up at 6am for her cataract appt.

  3. If only portable kennel manufacturers would make us toddler parents something convenient and light to tote our wayward and unpredictable chillens around in, it would make the world a better place.

  4. Beautiful horse ! I’ve ridden a lot of different breeds. I prefer my Morgan because he’s short..and sassy… lol yet really great with the kids. It rained here again… spent my morning dinking before I went to my night j.o.b. .

    Your son seems very mechanically inclined! That’s always handy! Not like my daughter.. “Oil?” “But, you put oil in the car when you bought it. You’re suppose to put oil in it again?” Bone dry. Fortunately, just. Plus she’s learned a bit since then. 🙂

    I bought some bombs for the house as Binkie brought in a flea. I blame her since she always sleeps inside.Although it could have been any of the dogs. The other two sleep inside occasionally.

  5. I had a cobweb morning yesterday morning, I kept telling hubby I just cant get my head together.

  6. burg-great idea! husband frontline…I bet it’d work for 30 days. You are on to something I think

    brian-must be nice to have all that energy. My schedule is flexible..

    EWBL-really, why hasnt anyone built something like that yet??

    katie-son #1 definitely got that talent from his Father. When I take stuff apart, I always end up w/ extra pieces

    kelli-cobwebs suck dont they?

  7. Aniin BG, I had energy, but I couldn’t sleep last night so now I am very tired. 😦

  8. Midlife Mom

    I have those cobweb days too but I can blame it on menopause! lol! Thanks for the article on barefoot horses, VERY interesting. All five of mine are shoeless right now, never put shoes on the three ponies but the old appy cracks up bad without shoes as I have to ride on the road. My farrier likes them to go barefoot if at all possible. My Morgan has kind of dishy front feet so have to keep shoes on him in the summer when he’s ridden a lot. The vet is coming for spring shots and check ups on Monday, I’m wondering if he will want to do the strangles vac where they all were so sick with it just a few months ago. I wouldn ‘t think he would but we’ll see..

  9. Midlife Mom

    I have those cobweb days too but I can blame it on menopause! lol! Thanks for the article on barefoot horses, VERY interesting. All five of mine are shoeless right now, never put shoes on the three ponies but the old appy cracks up bad without shoes as I have to ride on the road. My farrier likes them to go barefoot if at all possible. My Morgan has kind of dishy front feet so have to keep shoes on him in the summer when he’s ridden a lot. The vet is coming for spring shots and check ups on Monday, I’m wondering if he will want to do the strangles vac where they all were so sick with it just a few months ago. I wouldn’t think he would but we’ll see..

  10. Midlife Mom

    Didn’t I say I have those cobweb days?????lol! I tried to edit something and ended up posting the same thing twice! DUH!

  11. I could picture you sneaking your cell phone out and whispering in it with your chin down.

    I give the cat hairball goo stuff – and she gives me the evil eye like that, too.

    Has the cat ever just jumped from there right onto Wee One? Looks like the plan is there.

  12. Yeah I’m having one of those days today. Oh i love that horse picture. You should submit it somewhere or blow it up as poster size and sell it lol

  13. bri-sorry ’bout that, insomnia is one of my close friends too

    MM-strangles is scary! I hope all goes well w/ your vet

    pamela-Marvin swats at WeeOne playfully unlike miss kitty, when she swats Wee One shes usually giving him a warning hes about to get clawed-Marvin has no claws.

    anne-today I am just tired-my spring allergies are getting the better of me. Mayeb Ill take some sudafed and get my heart racing-scary thought huh?

  14. Love, Love, Love that your son built his own bike, my boys do that stuff and I think it is great.

    And yes, cobwebs in the head days I can totally relate!

  15. Rebecca

    Well, how did the eye exams turn out? Eveybody Ok???

    Hubby needs to be punished. Spank him HARD!

    What kind of wine? Are you a red or white drinker? I prefer daiquiri’s. I need one soon.

    Son #1 seems pretty resourceful! That is a positive thought from daddy’s side of the family. Yeah!

    Girl, I have cobwebs 5 out of 7 days a week. You’re LUCKY!

  16. Q9

    Wow, That’s a beauty!

  17. michelle-yep, boys can he helpful sometimes!

    rebecca-boys eyes are good, mine suck as usual. I prefer a red or blush to white. But, I am not too picky.

    Q9-yep 🙂

Leave a Reply

