Questions, I Have Questions Dammit!

Scooter still has quite a bit of green grass out in his spacious pasture. He is back on his Equine Senior full feed 3X a day to maintain his health and weight.

Last year when we had the drought in Oklahoma, we did not have much green in our pasture this time of year.

I made Manicotti from scratch Thursday evening for dinner.

Somehow, I managed to not make enough sauce to spoon over the Manicotti after they were finished baking. It was a delicious meal despite the lack of extra marinara.

I was quite impressed with myself, it was the first time I had ever tried this recipe. Cooking isnt one of my strong talents….

*************

 

I have questions.

1. If I buy a parent training book is it going to help me be a better parent? or am I wasting my $$?

Because my kids are brats and they are quickly driving me to the psych ward.

There are so many parenting books out there. Dr. Phil, The Nanny, Hal Edward Runkel (The ScreamFree Parent-I could use this book),Thomas W. Phelan and on and on. 

2. How can my house get filthy in a matter of 3 hours?

I left my house Wednesday morning at 7am to take my father-n-law to the MD in Tulsa. I returned home shortly after 11:30 am.

I left my house clean and straightened up. Bubba went to school at 7:30 am, hubs and Wee One went to work after dropping him off.

I came home to dishes piled in the sinks, dirty muddy floors through out the house, laundry thrown at the hamper-not in the hamper, and food wrappers on the floor beside the heaping trashcan. WTF!?!?!?!?!

3. Why did Wee One call Bubba a f**ker yesterday?

I have kept my potty-mouth in check. I started that months ago when we had a little bit of hope that Wee One might get into preschool. No more cussing allowed. I suspect Bubbs has been cussing out of my earshot…

4. Why does the same irritating parent in the gray Trailblazer insist on blocking traffic in the pick up circle at the Junior High after school?

I want to slap this stupid lady sometimes. And, I know I am not the only parent in the pick up circle wanting to harm her.

Move it lady!!!

5. Does the front of my car have a sign on the bumper that says: PLEASE PULL OUT IN FRONT OF ME! ????????????

All week distracted and just plain stupid people have been pulling their vehicles out in front of me.

The worse being some dirty-blonde-lank-haired skank who did an illegal U-turn in front of me on the county jail road then procedes to drive 20 miles under the speed limit. To top it off, she nearly side-swiped me near the turning lane. Sober up before you drive skank!

6. While I am ranting about driving, have blinkers become obsolete and no one has informed me?

Because I’ve noticed no one uses their damn blinkers anymore causing me to become very cranky while sitting unnecessarily at STOP SIGNS.

7. Who is that hottie driving a certain dump truck for Bucks that I keep running into and who keeps flirting with me?

I see this guy all over. He was even traveling down my road one day when Scooter and I were out for a ride. He waved and smiled really big…..he looks kinda young tho. hmmmm

8. Why were there 3 Tiger fans (opposing team) sitting in front of us (football player moms) at the last home game? Can they NOT see they are surrounded by Huskies fans and Huskie colors?

A few other players moms and I were sitting in our usual spot in the bleachers watching the last home football game when 3 Tigers fans plopped their arses in front of us. We were all flying our colors so unless the idgits were color blind, they HAD to know they were in opposing territory. These people even had the nerve to get nasty when we cheered ourselves hoarse and clapped ourselves numb while our boys whipped their team.

9. Is it wrong that Wee One can sing almost every AC/DC song by heart and knows only a couple of nursery rhymes? Am I a bad parent because my kid likes to rock?

Apparently best guy friend D thinks so. He commented on the very fact a few days ago. I just chaulked it up to his tiredness of working, running the hospital and visiting his sick mother. Or maybe he was just taking a shot at me because I still dislike his new girlfriend……fluffy or foo foo or feebie or whoever the GF before this one was a lot better. She may have been a space cadet and barely legal but at least she didnt look like she came off the street corners.

Does any of this really matter?

And, no I am not PMSing.

Homecoming Parade photos soon…..

19 Comments

Filed under Rants

19 responses to “Questions, I Have Questions Dammit!

  1. OK, the manicotti looks wonderful even if you didn’t have enough marinara sauce. I’m totally impressed.

    As for the questions, some days are like that, ya they are. (do you remember Mikey who used to say that? lol)

  2. RGB-the manicotti wa great! It was gobbled up in minutes……lol, I remember that kid Mikey.

  3. The manicotti looks great! mmm

    Scooter looks great!

    I’m sure that you look great too! Just breathe! 🙂

    Your friend D is being overly judgmental ( and probably due to being tired and your dislike of Fluffy the g/f like you said… nobody knows you like your closest friends…)

    but does any of it really matter? No!!!!

    I learned a couple of Christmas songs as a child ( in German /French despite the fact that I’m an American ) and everything else was the Beatles…lol..

    But the real truth that I believe is this : The uniqueness that makes us who we are.. is a gift.
    Celebrate life by traveling in a good way, being and letting others be. This does not mean that boundaries are not necessary. Simply be yourself and be aware of what has value to you.

    I find that Society has become ruder and more lax… the language, the driving ( it’s atrocious here as well ) …. I can only be the change that I want to see..and truth to be told I often fail in my endeavors. We can only try. The bottom line? Nothing others do that piss you off is even personal. They don’t care. So, don’t let them “own” a piece of you if you can help it.

    As for the hottie… mmm enjoy the eye candy!

    now..I’m hungry!

  4. Scooter is back! Good healthy news. Wee One really said that? I remember we were about 12 or 13 before we discovered how “cool” it was to cuss. We’d make up any excuse to cuss, and we had quite a vocabulary. My doctor got it with both barrels when it was vaccination time, and called my Mother into the office to tell her he had never heard a kid like me “use that type of language” (I was proud…dammit). 😀

  5. I really liked #5!

    And regarding if any of this really matters – of course, parenting questions matter! Your thoughts and parenting behavior are what is really going to matter to your sons for the rest of their lives…so it’s nice that you’re thinking about these things.

    I discovered your blog through Brian’s, hope you don’t mind my commenting.

    There is a question I wanted to ask you, as you’re a professional horse trainer (and the only one I know). There wasn’t a comment box on your About Me page, so am asking it here, I’m sorry for commenting off-topic.

    I like horses and am romantically fascinated by them but don’t know much about them to be frank. My question is regarding the movie “The Horse Whisperer”, which I liked very much. Are there really such people? Or did Hollywood go overboard in trying to concoct a script just to make a movie?

  6. Aniin BG,

    Everyone’s looking out for themselves. Me, Me, Me.

    Love you

  7. As for parenting books, I actually do like reading them, sometimes I get good ideas, other times I think whatever get real, but all in all i like to read them. I would say get them at the library so you don’t have to put out for several. I like Lisa Whelchel (from Fact of Life) her creative correction had some good ideas also some times I rolled my eyes.

    I think we have gremlins in our house that come out after I clean because my kids and hubby swear it wasnt them.

  8. katie-thnx! Scooter has been feeling great lately too. D was just being hateful I think. I LIKED GF Fluffy, I do NOT like his current one now…shes nasty.

    MM-yep, Wee One really said that. M, you were a BAD boy!

    mahendrap-thnx for stopping by. I am not a professional trainer by any means…never went to school for it, unless you count life lessons. Yes, there are really Horse Whisperers. It is more of a training method that is geared to the psychology of the horse and how they react to situations around them, earning their complete trust is in a way ‘breaking’ them. Very different than the old school way of spur the buck right outta them. I have never used anything but gentle methods of training and have always had positive results.

    brian-MEMEMEMEME. I want one day to be all about ME…haha, that will never happen.

    kelli-Ill check out our library again, they had a few but none that looked too interesting. Gremlins, ha!

  9. I’ve decided that houses can’t stay clean – it is against the laws of physics. Dirt and toys cannot possibly stay in their proper places. and dishes – impossible to stay clean or get put into dishwashers. Not going to happen – ever.

  10. Rebecca

    ACDC huh….AT least he can come out of it with some rocker respect compared to the Crap RAP that is out there. “For those about to Rock—WE SALUTE YOU!!”

    Your mannacotti looks YUMMY to my tummy!
    I was sorting through a few of my mom’s cook books last night getting more idea s for my luncheon in 2 weeks.

    You have several more yrs ahead or rearing and dates and parties…..and LOTS of pictures!!!!

  11. jo

    Books are ok…but your heart guides you best.

    When Wee comprehends money, make him pay when he uses a bad word. Kids of all ages HATE that.
    “Splain the rules, follow through..no need to tell them twice.
    I’m not sure they put turn signals on cars any more either. My car has them, but I swear it’s the only one these days.
    People have become more rude…not sure why. We need a kindness kindergarten for adults I think.
    I also LE needs to write more tickets for the so called “little” stuff. Little becomes big when you get complacent. My son got one speeding ticket at 18, and was so traumatized he has obeyed every driving law since to avoid another. Even if it had been a ticket for a turn signal, he would have been just as mortified.
    I just have this theory if you can’t obey the simple, easy laws, what will stop you from breaking the more serious?
    Hell..I’m rambling. Tink and Z and sleep deprivation do that to me.
    It get’s better BG…I promise.

  12. Lael

    Awww of course it does!

    My son HATED kids songs.
    The first two songs he learned to sing?
    Lump and California Love
    Heheheheh. At the risk of Wee One hearing me -F*ck what any body else says. I think it shows intelligence,that he likes ADCD. He’s not like all the other kids and that is a damn good thing!

    My kids both swear like truckers. I’ve given up,lol

  13. lol…Fluffy, Fifi..they all start sounding a like…….

    Try about.com and see what they have to say in their parenting class..they seem to have a lot of different classes and they are all free. ..I’m learning more about quilting, more about knitting..lol…

    Maybe you can have Wee One in home school this year… like a pre pre school..or does he go right into Kindergarten next year?

    I like what Jo says too….

    http://childparenting.about.com/

    its for k-6th

    Have a great Monday!

  14. 1. probably wasting money
    2. Boys in house no mom
    3.Bubba
    4.Because she is a selfish bitch
    5.See #4
    6.See #4
    7. fans face
    8.to bug you
    9.I think it is great! Brook knew “Slow Hand” and a few others that maybe she should not have know LOL

  15. DaBich

    I’ll make a suggestion on the lady in the gray Trailblazer….two, actually. However, don’t blame me LOL
    1) Get out of your vechicle, go up to hers and ask her why she’s such a friggin idiot all the time, and to move the damn thing…or else…

    2) the or else is….manuever YOUR vehicle RIGHT in front of hers so that she cannot move. Then don’t YOU move.

    I’m a mean ol’ biatch at times LOL!

    Wee One and AC/DC is just fine…don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

  16. Thanks for responding!

    I think the way you described it – “geared to the psychology of the horse and how they react to situations around them, earning their complete trust” – is in many ways related to parenting children as well! 🙂

  17. 1. If I buy a parent training book is it going to help me be a better parent? or am I wasting my $$?

    hint: only if you HIT THEM WITH IT

    2. How can my house get filthy in a matter of 3 hours?
    It has something to do with physics. Yeah. Thats it.

    3. Why did Wee One call Bubba a f**ker yesterday?
    Bubba probably was.

    4. Why does the same irritating parent in the gray Trailblazer insist on blocking traffic in the pick up circle at the Junior High after school?
    IMA OBLIVIOT (probably in the phonebook. call her)

    5. Does the front of my car have a sign on the bumper that says: PLEASE PULL OUT IN FRONT OF ME! ????????????
    Do blondes put signs on the front of their cars?

    6. While I am ranting about driving, have blinkers become obsolete and no one has informed me?
    Yes. They are now Turn Signals. Optional, apparently.

    7. Who is that hottie driving a certain dump truck for Bucks that I keep running into and who keeps flirting with me?
    Jailbait.

    8. Why were there 3 Tiger fans (opposing team) sitting in front of us (football player moms) at the last home game? Can they NOT see they are surrounded by Huskies fans and Huskie colors?
    Frosted Flakes.

    9. Is it wrong that Wee One can sing almost every AC/DC song by heart and knows only a couple of nursery rhymes? Am I a bad parent because my kid likes to rock?
    not fair. Thats two questions.

  18. Kimberly

    Hey, that Screamfree parenting book…. I got it online for like $13.00. Yes, it was worth that. It’s got a lot of filler junk in it, but it’s worth for the times when you do have a lightbulb moment. I’m trying… trying I said… to incorporate some of the things from the book into our day…easier said than done. But, when I do manage to try…. It helps a lot. Just so you know… My children are brats also, ages 8, 9 and 11. All are loud, bossy and bratty, 2 are sneaky and 1 is a theif. (not to mention the oldest can’t stop getting suspended..) Just so you know I’m not one of thoses “I have this handled” kind of moms, just a recomendation from one half crazed mom to the next!

Leave a Reply

