8 Things And Another Trivial Trivia Q

Ancient One tagged me with the tag ‘8 things that make me, ME’ 

1. Link to your tagger and post these rules.

2. List eight (8) random facts about yourself.

3. Tag eight people at the end of your post and list their names (linking to them).

4. Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving them a comment on their blogs.

8 Things That Make Me,Me:

1. I am the youngest of 3 sisters and a brother. We were raised Catholic and Catholic schooled in Northern Michigan. All of my family lives in Michigan.

2. People in general annoy me. I can relate to animals a lot better than I can relate to people.

3. Horses are a huge part of my life. They always have been. Without horses I would perish. No, I am not exaggerating.

4. I am 1/2 Native American, Sault Ste. Marie MI Chippewa Band. I live in the heart of the Osage Nation Reservation and am treated well, like I have always belonged here.

5. I have a college degree but do not utilize it. I am a stay-at-home mom these days and have been since  the beginning of 2002.

6. Once I was a social butterfly, never being home and always on the go with a bunch of ‘friends’. These days, I only have 2 close friends (the same ones Ive had for many years) and prefer to be a homebody.

7. In 2001, I had a near fatal motor vehicle accident. My injuries occasionally still hurt. The whole experience changed me. Sometimes I wonder if it is just the closed head injury or the realization my life can be so easily snuffed out in a matter of seconds.

8. I am a reading addict. I have to have books onhand to read otherwise I start to get tremors, delusional, and just generally get the ‘joneses‘ for reading. I am weak when it comes to books. If I am not careful, I can spend a lot of money on books, probably as much as a drug addict spends on their daily fixes!

I am tagging anyone who wants to do this MEME….give it a whirl.

*************

80’s Trivia Question:

Which all-girl group/band had an 80’s No 1 hit named Venus?

29 Comments

Filed under MeMeMe, trivia

29 responses to “8 Things And Another Trivial Trivia Q

  1. I had never read about your accident before. Once you get to a certain age, mortality hits you right between the eyes; you just got your shot of it early in life (painfully, it sounds like).

    Cliff and I speak of our mortality almost daily, knowing our time is short. Even if we were to live to be 100, the time is limited when we can do the things we love to do… take walks (my knees already limit that), ride the horse (that too), ride the motorcycle.

    And truthfully, as sad as it is, I think once you are this aware of mortality, joy is never quite the same. It ought to be the other way, right? Maybe that’s just me.

  2. Aniin BG, cool again this morning, low 60’s. Beautiful weather lately. Only a couple more days until we leave. 😀

  3. 80’s Trivia – Bananarama, I believe.

    We leave this “village” in 2 days! YAY!!! I’m getting squirrelly!!! Can’t wait to get outta here!

    Gotta run – have a great week! Enjoy your time with Scooter while Wee One is at school enjoying himself!

    Take care – Hugs & Smiles! D 🙂

  4. It is always interesting to read memes… Thank you for sharing the gift of yourself!

    Tasting death certainly changes most of us. I’m sorry that you had to endure so much.

    My one side of my family live in East Tawas and Tawas city MI… I dinna grow up there though…

    I like to read.. right now I’m reading Billy Straight…

    Enjoy your day – I gotta run!

  5. Ann

    Thanks for playing Barn Goddess. We learn so much about each other when we do memes… I’m so happy that you survived your accident. God is Good!!

    That is one pretty horse! I can understand why you enjoy animals.

    Love-n-hugs!!

  6. Its nice to read these things about you…thanks for sharing them!!I hope you don’t suffer too much with the injuries you sustained in the accident. I used to work with a girl who was Indian (as well as her husband, not sure of the details of tribe etc…)…last name was GrayEagle…one of the greatest women I have ever met….she recently moved up north for a better job..I miss her a bunch!!

  7. Lael

    Me too with the reading!

  8. Can’t live without horses and books? You’re my girl.

    Very interesting about your Indian background … such fascinating history!

    As for your accident, something like that is a wake up call. We’re all lucky everyday.

    As the saying goes:
    If you go to bed in the same condition you were when you got up in the morning, you are a very lucky person.

  9. Rebecca

    Some of the random thoughts I knew about. The Motor vechicle accident I did not know about. I am certainly glad that you are ok.

    What turned you on to read? As a English teacher I am just curious.

    Your pets are lucky to have you = )

  10. the Bangles.

    I may do the meme on Wednesday. So look for that.

    great list!

  11. FelineFrisky is the winner with her answer of Bananarama!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    donna-I agree, once you realize just how easy you can leave this earth, your outlook on things change. It is weird…or maybe I am weird..

    brian-you promised postcards, remember?

    FF-you WIN! you know your 80’s muzac 🙂

    katie-the Tawas area huh? how cool! Petra (the detective in Billy Straight) is awesome! even better than Dr. Cross…….

    Ann-your welcome, my meme’s dont usually disclose much about me because I tend to blab a lot about myself here 🙂

    kat-hey, what can I say? us redskins are tough and dependable.

    lael-reading does the mind good

    strawberrylane-I have to have horses and books, if I cannot just kill me now.

    rebecca-my mother was a teacher and she was a reader who taught me to read wayyyyyyyyyyy before I ever started kindergarten.

    melanie-k, Ill be looking!

  12. Bananarama…

    Wow.. Motorcycles scare me.

  13. dickiebo

    That photograph is brill. Love it. I have previously bored readers of my blog, telling them how I lived and died for horses as a boy. All types, from carthorses to thoroughbreds, from riding-schools to pony rides on the beach. Didn’t have any money, so the only way I could ride was by ‘working my way’!
    Absolutely fascinated by Native American Indians. (My Spirit-Guide is one, called ‘Ironside’). I shall now try and find out something about what you have mentioned above. Thanks.

  14. burg-bananarama is right.

    dickiebo-well, then I had better get to reading your archives! other ‘horsepeople’ interest me

  15. Thanks for sharing, I’ve missed ya! Love the trivia, love the 80’s. 🙂

    Hugs n’ Love,
    Brandy

  16. I won’t cheat by Googling it, Barngoddess. So, I have to be honest. I don’t know.

  17. Well, I knew Bananarama was the right answer, but I am waaaayyyy late!! Enjoyed reading about you. I think I will try this meme.

  18. DaBich

    :;shudders:: Reading about your accident gave me the willies! Bless you, woman!

    Now, my family rivals yours. I have five sisters and two brothers, we were all raised Roman Catholic and went to parochial school for 8 years. Whew…when we all get together, it’s a party! With all the added neices and nephews, you know.

    LOL!

    Nice Me-me, I did one similar to it not long ago…Hmmm….

  19. Wow, profound, the crash. Glad you survived and I enjoyed learning more about you. Thanks!

  20. I went back to read your accident story again.
    How very fragile we all are.
    Good to be reminded

  21. I thought I commented on this post. Sure don’t remember what I said though, but I thought it was something about your accident. I’m glad you’re ok!

    I’ve been tagged with this same thing. I figure at this rate soon there will be nothing about me that people don’t know. Then do I start making it up? or what?? lol

    Still trying to get the Tulsa plans in place. My roommates are not co-operating.

  22. You forgot to mention that you are one of the coolest online gals around, hands down.

    I’m sorry to hear about your near fatal car accident. I can imagine that it WOULD change you.

  23. jo

    Great post ! How is your father in law doing with the eye surgery ?
    Wee still love school ? And did Bubba’s team win ????

  24. Rebecca

    Now you have me siinging….”Godess on a mountain top”….Bananarama…I can even see the video. I was such a MTV follower! Geeze!

  25. Ann

    Just stopping by to say hello! My first visit here but I’ll be back. I love you horse photo. I’ve always loved horses from afar. Intersting to read about you. I’m a homebody too. It’s great your a stay at home mom. I did that for 12 years way back in the 80’s and 90’s. My daughter can’t wait! Oh and I found you through Wordless Wednesday’s and Donna’s site Just Me. I liked the picture you had for your icon. Have a great evening!

  26. We share a lot of things alike.

  27. Bananarama! Love the ’80s!

    I hadn’t read about your accident before. Wow. I’m glad you’re still with us.

    And, yes, you are using your college education, every day, because it’s a part of who you are.

  28. Oh yeah, 80’s trivia , definately Bananarama

Leave a Reply

