Frosty

 

Nothing like a frosty morning to get the day started.

I have a confession.

Warm weather is my favorite but,

I like a good frosty morning on occasion. Getting busy outside in the 20 degrees, horses running and snorting. Breath flowing like steam stacks into the still air. I may feel the need to move a little bit faster in the 20 degrees but I like it.

When the sunrise looks this beautiful, you know it’s gonna be a great day regardless of:

the vacuum blowing dirt all over the newly swept floors

the hubs bitchy attitude

breaking one of my favorite Christmas decorations

the extra bill in the mail

Bubbas back-talking smart mouth

one of the toilets almost  over-flowing

stepping on one of Wee One’s building blocks and nearly crippling myself

feeling a head cold trying to come on

missing my family in Northern Michigan over the Holidays

my stoopid cell phone that is barely 1 year old that is hardly holding a battery charge

not having any time to write or blog because of my daily life-being busy is no fun

Where does the lazy BarnGoddess mother take her youngest for breakfast?

Sonic Drive Inn.

Wee One had french fries and an apple juice slush (very healthy I know).

Wee isnt too fond of the schools food. I was not going to send him to school with the option of lumpy oatmeal or plain toast…….a breakfast that he would not eat but I would be paying for.

I had a black coffee and a lemon-berry slush. The slush has fresh strawberrries in it……so good.

Any one of those paintings would make a great Christmas present for ummmmmmmmm

 me!

24 Comments

Filed under Horses, the great outdoors, Weather

24 responses to “Frosty

  1. Katie

    Ha ha… we love Sonic! Unfortunately, there are no Sonics in MT that I know of. My favorite was the grilled cheese with jalepenos, the poppers… and the shakes… chocolate malt. I once worked for Sonic.. rollar skating fool…. AM manager… made better money carhopping than I did as a chef. Seriously. My two daughters worked there years before me. I still have my Sonic headband and my tater tot key ring.

    I love your photos! Beautiful!

    The paintings are great as well. I’m doing a graphite drawing for one of my best friends. I love handmade gifts. 🙂

    Enjoy your evening!

  2. Katie

    Ha ha… we love Sonic! Unfortunately, there are no Sonics in MT that I know of. My favorite was the grilled cheese with jalepenos, the poppers… and the shakes… chocolate malt. I once worked for Sonic.. rollar skating fool…. AM manager… made better money carhopping than I did as a chef. Seriously. My two daughters worked there years before me. I still have my Sonic headband and my tater tot key ring.
    ..
    I love your photos! Beautiful!

    The paintings are great as well. I’m doing a graphite drawing for one of my best friends. I love handmade gifts. 🙂

    Enjoy your evening!

  3. Katie

    growling at the server today! Sorry for the double posting!

  4. Sonic Tator tots and juice slushes ROCK!

  5. I love Sonic too. But, there aren’t any where I live now.

    Your sunrise and frosty morning pictures are beautiful. The horse painting would make beautiful gift…especially a comissioned painting of Scooter.

  6. jo

    Breath taking photos !
    No Sonics here…yet.
    Hope the rest of your week goes smoother than today !

  7. We don’t have Sonics here – so don’t know how good those apple slushes probably are.

    But, I’d love a bit of frost right now – instead of the constant rain we’ve had for 48 hours straight – ugh.

  8. Trish

    Greetings! Looks like you’re going to get that Christmas horse painting you were wanting! (Please check your email – you have mail!) I’m not totally sure I can get it done and delivered for Christmas, but I’m gonna try! My car was stolen a few weeks ago, with most of my paints, brushes & art materials in it, which of course were gone when the car was recovered, but this is an EXCELLENT opportunity to go out and replace them. By the way, I love the headstudy of the sorrel in the art store window! Have a great Tuesday!

  9. Aniin BG, it is cold and windy this morning. Yuck. Oh well, it will be back near 80 by Friday.

    Enjoy the time with your family.

  10. DaBich

    It’s 20 degrees here too, but we have 2-3 inches of snow with 2-4 more coming. UGH!

    Dontcha just hate those “extra” bills?? :/

  11. dickiebo

    ‘Being busy is no fun’. Mebbe so, but it keeps you out of trouble.
    I really like the early am pictures. Can’t beat a cold, frosty morning. Especially when you don’t even have to get out of bed! Yea – Life’s a bitch.

  12. I was freezing my cottage cheese-like butt off this morning when I went to work. Soooooo cold. I feel like I can’t complain though because I bitch all summmer when it’s sooooooo hot.

    I like the grilled cheese sandwiches, chili dogs, and cherry limeade at Sonic. I order pickles on the grilled cheese and thats what I ate for my entire pregnancy with number 4. Have you noticed that they’ve raised their prices? I only go now if I have a coupon.

  13. Rebecca

    So sorry to disagree with you but late fall is my favorite time of the year. I enjoy the COOLER weather and the leaves changing colors…..

    I have been neglecting my bloggers as I have been busy and spending less and less time on line. Part due to my college class and others due to more time being spent with R.

    The horse pics are grand, but a bit big for my taste in a house.

  14. Kat

    Hello there!!Been out of the circut for a few days and was stopping by to say hi

  15. I’ve had this rant waiting in the wings for awhile and this is the appro moment to drop it: I grew up in the midwest and loooooved my Sonic! I mean, BY GAWD they made a float out of Mtn Dew!!!! Heaven in a recycled styrofoam cup. Ain’t nuttin’ better.

    Then I moved here. No Sonics. That’s 16 yrs without a Mtn Dew Float Of The Gods. But I survived.

    Then last year they announced there was one going up in Hillsboro (t’other side o’ town from me) but hey, it’s closer to this side of the world!!!

    I waited and waited. Couldn’t seem to make it over there during open hours, but still loving my Sonic.
    FINALLY made it over there … anticipation … can you feel it?!!!!!

    Wait … wha? What the … ?!!! COKE PRODUCTS???!!!! Son’s a bi… es. ARRGH! Everyone knows that Pepsi is more loved than Coke! Bastiges.

    It’s a conspiracy. So I just stopped drinking soda all together. So THERE. ppppbbbt!!

  16. I like frosty weather too:)

    I’m jealous that you have a Sonic.
    I am so craving a cherry lime-aid
    and would even consider driving into
    Washington State(the closest state to me)
    to buy one…except
    Washington State is the only state without
    a SONIC,WAAAA!

  17. Beautiful pictures as usual! That gallery looks so interesting. I’d put any of those paintings on my walls!

  18. katie-your friend is lucky! yikes, no Sonic in MT, the horrors….oh well, you have some good looking cowboys to make up for it, right?

    astaryth-good to see ya stranger. I am a frie girl but their drinks cannot be beat, right?

    jolynna- it looks like Trish is going to do a painting of Scooter for meeee-yay!!!!!!

    jo-yet…..we just got a McDonalds about 20 minutes South of me, before we had to drive 45 minutes one way. Wee One is happy about it, me notsomuch

    karmynR-awww, sorry about the rains. Ill send you some bright Oklahoma sunshine and clear blue skies.

    Trish-you have NO IDEA thrilled I am that you offered to paint my old guy! Thank you again. Sorry about your car being stolen, people suck dont they????

    brian-I hope you warm up asap!

    dabich-ewww, no snow please. Gah! just when I thought we were actually ahead, in the mail is a stooopid bill that wasnt figured into the budget.

    dickiebo-you gonna lay in bed your whole life?heheheh

    EWBL-yeah, whats with the higher prices? is it to keep us in fun Sonic fashion with their cool wackypak toys?

    rebecca-Fall is my favorite time of the year too…like Oct/Nov when its still sorta warm outside. I am feeling neglected but thats okay as long as your having a good time w/ R….

    kat-Yikes, hope it was work and nothing else

    michelle-coke is big out here in the SW. I was a pepsi addict until I had my near fatal car wreck. The day after when I could finally drink fluids, I wanted a COKE and nothing else….wierd huh?

    lael-oh dear! cherry limeaids are hard to come by. They used to sell them in the bottle at the little store in my tiny town but they havent had them since summer 😦 if they get them back, Ill send some to ya.

    arkansassongbird-the huge painting, I have just the wall for it….

  19. Sonics is good. The pictures are wonderful. And I agree getting out on a sharp , bright frosty morning is a good eye opener and it just feels good.

  20. I tried a home made apple slush (with dark green lettuce and parsley) in my blender.

    It tasted pretty good for being so healthy.

    So, your vacuum regurgitated?

  21. The gallery is useful. I would like to buy some picture for my wall.

  22. Geez, you had all kinds of s_ _ _ going on, no wonder you have a bah humbug thing going on, with all of that, I would too!

  23. ELL

    I’m SO with you on enjoying morning chores in winter!! How about those frosty nights when the stars are so big and the snow is twinkling in the moon light and it’s so quiet all you hear is the sound of horses chewing, and it takes way too long to do barn check because you can’t make yourself leave the magical scene? Nice photos!

  24. this has been really a cool place for your horses !

Leave a Reply

