Life Is Good….Today Anyways

Ahh, life is good. 

It took me several hours to get my house and barn straightened out after my vacation. Hubs and the boys lived like bachelors while I was away. No one bothered to pick up a shovel in the barn either……hmmm.

My manicure still looks great…my pedi too. It’s too chilly in Oklahoma for sandals which is sinful since my toes look so purdy.

The view from my lounge chair….

no coconuts….except for the nut taking photos from below.

Nice place! I want to live there 24/7, 365 days a year.

no place for horses“, they say.

I say, “make room for horses!”

Watch out for sharks. 2 of my sisters going into the sea.

 Left – Right: J,K,KR,M

I took this photo on our last night in Florida…sniff sniff.

Our last evening, we picked up our adopted sista KR who lives in the Historic district in downtown Orlando FL. and we went to dinner. 

KR’s home is beautiful. The house is old and simply gorgeous, on the historic homes tour. When hurricane Charlie hit, my sister J, from N.MI, was there in the house all by herself. KR was away on business, J was visiting FL, Charlie took a suprising veer North and smacked Orlando. My sister J can say she survived Charlie.

I am well rested and revived after my vacation. I feel great. My sunburn turned into a tan. I have a nice glow.

It was great to hang with my sisters. My sisters are the best ever, I consider myself very lucky to have them. I miss them already!We laughed so much we should have received a citation….we ate a lot and I drank a lot, not enough to pickle my liver tho.

I called home from the Orlando airport while waiting for my early morning flight to DFW. Bubba answered the phone, “mom, dad said call back later. the tornado sirens are going off in town!”

Springtime in Oklahoma.

I called my family back during my layover at DFW while awaiting my flight to Tulsa. They went to the cellar and all was okay except for tree limbs and flooding.

My flight from DFW to Tulsa was a rough one. No one was allowed out of their seats, flight attendants included. I was glad when we finally landed. I am not a nervous flier but one of my seat-mates was. Otherwise all my air travel went well. I was fortunate enough to sit with some good-looking businessmen who always helped me with my carryon luggage and waited for me to exit my window seat. nice!

My equines were happy to see me, it warmed my heart to hear Scooter’s whinny. Wee was happy with his MinnieMouse and Bubba was happy with his gator t-shirt. We saw real alligators in Lake Jessup but none of us had our cameras ready-dang.

I am back in the saddle.

31 Comments

Filed under Family Life, Ramblings, the great outdoors, Weather

31 responses to “Life Is Good….Today Anyways

  1. jo

    Welcome back ! So glad you had a good time. My sisters are the among the best, too. It’s just we can’t all manage a time to be together at once.
    I am relieved the weather calmed down out there.
    Hope your weather changes enough for you to keep your tan…and show off the pedicure 🙂

  2. So glad you had a great time! Good for you!

    Welcome back!

    (You can share your pretty toes with us ;))

  3. Welcome back! That looks like a rockin’ vacation if I ever saw one! NICE hotel! Tooo cool!
    A little time off is always a nice thing 🙂
    Wonder how I can get me some of that…

  4. So glad you had a wonderful vacation. A person sure needs those times.
    I have often wondered what life would be like without horses-I actually tried it once-lasted 6 months. By the fourth month I was miserable and going crazy.
    PS – glad you are back…

  5. Aniin BG, welcome back home. Glad you had a great time living it up. 🙂

  6. Sounds like a lovely warm visit with your sisters! I love visiting Florida!

  7. I’m glad you had a great time. Doesn’t surprise me the boys behaved like bachelors. Would have surprised me if they hadn’t!

    Warning sirens got my attention. My friend, Angie, I was hoping to go to Nationals with, is not wanting to go because it’s tornado country. So we need to talk! I need info on tornados in October if I’m ever going to make it to Tulsa.

    Glad to hear you are back in the saddle.

  8. Sounds like you had a wonderful time and are well rested. You sound a lot less stressed. Glad you made it back safe!

  9. Wish I could have gone with you! Glad everything is okay. I hope this next system misses you.
    Hun, the boys do not know what a shovel is for!

  10. dickiebo

    Welcome home, Ramblin’!
    You sure got funny sisters. Just look at their swimming costumes! Or were you joshin’ about them going into the sea? Mind you, you lot look like you know how to enjoy yourselves.
    Glad you didn’t fret about us lot.

  11. you’ve inspired me – I think I’ll talk my sisters into going to Florida for our next ge together

    Welcome home.

  12. BG: What a great post! I wish you had some audio or better yet…video of you and your sisters laughing! I spent a lot of time in Orlando and West Palm 2 years ago. No, Scooter would have to find a special place. But at least it’s a nice getaway. Bubba’s message cracked me up! Scooter!..Wee One! Welcome back!!:)

  13. Welcome back BG!!! I’m so glad you had such a good time with your sisters on your trip. I have three sisters so can relate, we have such a good time when we can get together. Have never taken a trip together with all four of us though, will have to do that. I’m glad you got some rest and had some fun and got a tan! Ahhhhhhh..life is good! I sure bet your four legged guys were happy to see you back. No one shoveled eh? I wouldn’t cook for them for a week! Glad you are riding, it’s miserably cold here this week, wind chill factors are very low. Brushed everyone today but didn’t ride, too cold outside and the inside arena is too scary for them when the wind is howling. Doesn’t take much for them to think the sky is falling!

  14. Welcome back and glad you had a good time. Take some of us with you next trip!

  15. jo-get your sisters together at least ONCE!

    kila-okay, next post Ill show my toes

    mikey-need a vacation? have some sort of breakdown, I hear that works!

    BEC-when I was in college, I drove home EVERY weekend….cannot.survive.without.my.horses

    brian-it was nice but too short….

    callie-FL is a great place to visit but too many people!

    risingrainbow-did u get my email?

    pinky-destressed but it’s quickly wearing off,yikes

    celeste-gah, more severe weather coming at us, not fair

    dickiebo-they had on suit coverups! yep, we went into the Atlantic, a bit chilly. No worries about y’all…I knew you’d be fine while I was away 😉

    pamela-do it! you will have SO much fun.

    MichaelM-oh, I have audio but I promised my sister K not to share it! lmao shes a nurse and all that stuff…..lmao some more

    MMom-take the trip, youll be happy u did! lol at your horses. This morning Scooter freakedout at a trash can lid….it was NOT even moving, wtf?

    Linda-k, Ill let you know when to pack 😉

  16. I’m glad you had such a great time!!! Still, no horses allowed? bummer…

    You’ve made me miss Miami…

  17. Too many people in Florida???? You must have had too much to drink. 😉

  18. Great pictures! Sounds like you had so much fun!

  19. Rebecca

    What is the color on your nails? I like it.

    It looks like you had a great vacation …sorry no shovelers in the barn to help.

    Chilly in OK? It’s HOT in GA. It hit 79 today. Now, that is too warm for me….

    Gotta go get my contract from the principal…see ya!
    Glad you are back!

  20. Wow what a nice place!

    If I were to get a mani/pedi, my fingers/toes would probably fall off from shock.

  21. Historic district in Orlando??? That is a laugh. O-Town is the South’s brown-eye. There is nothing historic about Mosquito county. I would drop a neutron bomb on that s-hole in a minute if W gave me the go ahead. I am glad you had a good time, but I hope you never have to suffer another minute there.

    The local government and the feds suppress the crime states in that town to keep the tourism up. Ask your sis about OBT, Pine Hills, and the drug murders that occur everyday. I am glad you made it back safe from one of America’s most dangerous cities.

  22. pavel-I want to visit Miami! it looks beautiful…

    Brian-omg. I am so glad my sister was driving…..

    arkansassongbird-it was great!

    rebecca-I cant remember, it MAY have been OPI Red Apple…but I cant remember. It is just over 1 week until the BIG day…excited??

    burg-it was NICE, my toes still look great 🙂

    johnnypeepers-chill. puleeeese. it sounds like YOU need to get away my friend. I’m coming over soon, beware. 😉

  23. Looks WONDERFUL, we are in major countdown mode to vacation…5 days.

  24. okay I wanna sit in that lounge chair lol lovely view lol

  25. Glad you are back and SAFE- I am a reader and love your blog!

  26. kelli-y’all are going on a cruie right???have fun!

    anne-lovely view, indeed it was

    jcarroll-thank you 🙂

  27. There’s nothing better than getting away — except for coming back.

    Your manicure photo made me laugh. Hard to have a manicure here at home!

    So glad you had a nice time. If anybody can figure out a way to include the horses in that scenery, it’s you. I’m sure that lovely as it all was, it would have been even more beautiful with horses in it.

    But then your manicure would have been destroyed.

  28. Florida with sisters…. now that sounds like a fun, fun, time!! Loved the photos!!! Glad you’re home safe and sound!

  29. anne-ha, my manicures last about 1 and a half week around here…I think thats pretty good!

    AO-thanks! it was very fun 🙂

  30. I’m late getting here but WELCOME BACK!

    Even just the tone of your blog feels rejuvenated and fresh since you’ve come back.

    Sisters will cure what ails you, apparently!

  31. Katie

    Hey! Sounds like you had a fabulous time BG!

    That’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

